Blood.Alcohol

.Content - 7
: (BAC) Measures the?,‘y:‘;
numl:ler of grams of N
vethanohri‘everl_] ' " \

N,.If‘lfmﬂlhter,s ﬁb’lood

\.,-/ 7y fnu; ¢
"!'" b ﬁl)’ -,-44»:"
“ % TV



What affects
Blood Alcohol Content?

Blood alcohol is affected by the amount of
alcohol ingested, the time it takes to drink the
alcohol, gender, weight, amount of food eaten,
overall health, fatigue and genetics.

How is Blood Alcohol Content
Measured?

Blood alcohel can be measured through
chemical analysis of a person’s blood, breath,
urine or saliva.

How much can a person drink
before becoming impaired?
There is no easy answer, any amount of

alcohol will, to some degree, affect a person’s
ability to drive.

No excuses!

”| feel fine to drive.”
“| had one drink at lunch time."”
“l can handle my alcohol.”

It only takes one standard drink to begin
impairment.




Level of Blood Alcohol Content
and how it affects driving tasks:

.02 -.03 Reduced reaction time and divided
attention. Drowsiness. Decline in visual functions

.04-.05 Clouded judgment, impairment of the
sensory motor skills, increased risk taking.
Difficulty steering. Reduced response to
emergency driving situations.

.06-.07 Impaired tracking difficulties, impaired
vision and hearing. Difficulty detecting danger,
inability to focus, and perception impaired.

.08-.10 Information processing deficit, risky
decision making, problems with speed control,
poor/slowed coordination.

.10-.12 Reduction in concentration attention and
perception. Reduced ability to maintain lane
position and brake correctly.

.13-.15 Unable to function behind the wheel.
Gross motor impairment and lack of physical
control in vehicle. Blurred vision and auditory
information processing capability. Judgment and
perception are severely impaired.

.16+ Feeling dazed/confused or otherwise
disoriented. All mental, physical and sensory
functions are severely impaired.




Provisions of New York
Gtate Vehicle and Traffic Law

Article 31 Section §1192

Operating a motor vehicle while under the
influence of alcohol or drugs.

What are the Alcohol-Related
Laws in New York State?

Zero Tolerance (under the age of 21)
Section §1192.a
BAC .02 and above

Driving While Ability Impaired
Section §1192.1
BAC .05-.079

Driving While Intoxicated
Section §1192.2 or §1192.3
BAC .08 or higher

Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated
Section §1192.2-a
BAC .18 or higher

Aggravated Driving While Intoxicated
with Child in Car
Section §1192.2-a(b)

Commercial Motor Vehicles
Section §1192.5 or §1192.6
BAC .04 or higher

STOP,_. . .
DWI

Focused.

York Saving Lives.




12 ounces of beer or
4-5 ounces of wine or
1 %2 ounces of liquor = BAC .02

It can take roughly 1- 2 hours before one
standardized drink can be fully
metabolized in the body.

No. Cold showers, coffee, food, fresh air,
or exercise have no effect on getting
sober. Your body still has to metabolize
the alcohol.

Some products such as cough syrups,
mouthwash, breath sprays, non-alcoholic
beer and tinctures contain alcohol. Most
will register on breathalyzers, but will
not last very long unless consumed.

www.stopdwi.org
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